Social Media, Friend or Foe?

3 Mar

So it’s week six of my Topic of The Week blog and when I saw that I was supposed to listen to a podcast about some people I have never heard of about social media I was very disscouraged and kept trying to put the assignment off. But, finally when I decided to get it over with I became very embarrassed with myself when I enjoyed listening to it. I will be using the three-pronged approach to react to “Social Media: Friend or Foe?” :: Shel Holtz, Mark Ragan and others discuss “concerns and objections around the adoption of social media communication channel.” For those of you who do not know what the three-pronged approach is, here it is:

  1. What did you learn?
  2. What surprised you?
  3. What do you want to know more about?

I learned many different things while listening, but what stuck out the most was how much we use and most people depend on social media. They even talked about how employees should not be frowned upon for using social media while on the job. In the beginning they talked about how blogging is very important, blogging is a way to show you customers that you are loyal and care about them.

What surprised me was how before, Ragen was basically anti-social media and that he believes that he has control over the customers. I do not know if I believe this because companies do everything for their customers. I know in the restaurant business the first rule is that the customer is always right no matter what! That to me sounds like the customer is in control.

I want to know more about how they think technology will be like in the future. This was very interesting to me and I have a few opinions myself.

Overall this podcast was very interesting to me and I am glad I took some time out of my day to listen to it.

Leave a Reply

