Social Media is Not My Number One

25 Jan

I may be part of the minority when it comes to using social media. I spend an hour a week on social media websites. The only two websites I use frequently are Facebook and YouTube, Facebook being my number one like most of the people in my age group. Yes, I go on Facebook a couple of times a week but the majority of people my age these days go on Facebook a couple of times a day. I mostly just use Facebook as a way to keep in contact with my old friends or family members who live across the country.

Besides Facebook, the only other social media I use is YouTube, but I rarely ever even use this either. Once in a blue moon will I look up a funny video someone told me to watch, maybe once a month. I never ever just sit on my computer clicking on video after video because I am bored like some people do.

I do not use Twitter and do not see the point of creating an account of my own. I believe Twitter is ok to use if you have a business or you are a celebrity and you are known by a lot of people, but I just don’t see the point for a normal person to have “Followers” or should I say “Stalkers”? 🙂 I don’t want random people knowing what I am doing throughout the day, or how I feel about how my waiter is taking forever to bring my food to me at Olive Garden. I don’t care if my former classmate, who I rarely ever talk to and just know her because we had to do a project together, is having a good time with her friend from back home. Why would I want to know that?

So if it wasnt for keeping in touch with friends and family members or getting my monthly dose of funny videos from YouTube, I would not use any social media at all.

6 Responses to “Social Media is Not My Number One”

  1. jprice2290 January 26, 2011 at 3:46 PM #

    I completely agree with you. It seems like social media networks have taken over our generation and maybe it has, but I just don’t have the time to spend hours on the internet at a time. I guess we are just different in the fact that we aren’t as dependent on social media to have social lives. However, I am getting more into social media and I am beginning to understand that you can create an account on a network without having to spend so much time on it. Adaptation is good thing.

  2. Shanti January 26, 2011 at 4:07 PM #

    Micheala…wow! You gotta step it up girl!! I like social media because I’m a social-butterfly! LOL! But I understand what you are saying about Twitter…but you can use it and not be so detailed about your life. I use mine sometimes for random thoughts…to me it shows personality (like mine is crazy just like me!). But I love youtube!! lol! But i hope you find ways to make Twitter fun for you since you have to have it for class! Muah Muah!
    ~Love frm a Vixen!

  3. Allie Dunne January 31, 2011 at 10:42 AM #

    I totally understand your hesitation about social media. When I first joined Facebook I thought it was a really weird concept to put up pictures of myself for the whole world to see. I also think due to our generation being so into social media that we no longer have substantial communication face to face, so much of our communication happens over social media. I really like your take on social media, and i agree the whole “stalker” thing is real and I never post what I am doing or where I am.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blog Comments; My Thoughts Pasted on a Single Page! « Shanti-Janae's Blog - January 26, 2011

    […] Social Media is Not My Number One By: Michaela Posted: Jan. 26.2011 Micheala…wow! You gotta step it up girl!! I like social […]

  2. Comments « Allie Dunne - January 31, 2011

    […] Commented on Michaela Hawleys “Social Media is Not My Number  One” […]

  3. Comments « Allie Dunne - January 31, 2011

    […] Commented on Michaela Hawleys “Social Media is Not My Number  One” […]

Leave a Reply

